Monday, March 9, 2009

Jimmy Ponder - Ain't Misbehavin' (1998)

Time to get acquainted with one of the best-kept secrets in guitar jazz, Mr. Jimmy Ponder from Pittsburg, PA (b. 1946). He began playing with Charles Earland at 17, and in the following years played with Lou Donaldson, Houston Person, Donald Byrd, Stanley Turrentine, and Jimmy McGriff. He moved to Philadelphia and later New York City in the 1970s, and recorded extensively as a leader for a number of jazz labels.

This superb date finds him in the company of the great late John Hicks on piano, Don Braden on tenor sax, Dwayne Dolphin on bass and Cecil Brooks III (who produced this album) on drums. Very tasteful and soulful jazz expertly delivered, enjoy.

track listing:

1. On Broadway
2. Sunny
3. I'll Remember April
4. Who Can I Turn To (When Nobody Needs Me)
5. Three Little Words
6. My One and Only Love
7. Summertime
8. Man Ain't Got No Thing on Me
9. Wave
10. All Blues
11. Ain't Misbehavin'

rec. in Pittsburg, PA, on June 16, 1998