Monday, June 7, 2010

Stan Hope feat. Houston Person - Put on a Happy Face

Killer session featuring the great Stan Hope on piano, a player who has been active for seven (!) decades as an active jazz pianist and a long-time sidekick of great tenor sax man Houston Person who participates on three numbers. Stalwarts Ray Drummond and Kenny Washington on bass and drums respectively provide the rhythmic foundation and superb sound is guaranteed by the great Rudy Van Gelder, what more could a jazz lover ask for?

track listing

1. R.D.'s Blues
2. Then I'll Be Tired of You
3. My Ship
4. Easy to Love
5. Put on a Happy Face
6. They Can't Take That Away from Me
7. I'm Afraid the Masquerade Is Over
8. Somewhere in the Night
9. Medley: I'll Never Stop Loving You/The Island: I'll Never Stop Loving You / The Island
10. K.W. Groove

personnel & info

Audio Mixer: Rudy Van Gelder.

Liner Note Author: David Jaye.

Recording information: Van Gelder Studios, Englewood Cliffs, NJ (12/22/2004).

Personnel: Stan Hope (piano); Stan Hope; Houston Person (tenor saxophone); Ray Drummond (bass guitar); Kenny Washington (drums).

Additional personnel: Houston Person (on tracks 1, 2 & 7)