Friday, December 7, 2012

Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers 1958 - Paris Olympia

The mighty Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers caught live in Paris during their 1958 sojourn at the City of Light. You will be hard-pressed to find a more satisfying live hard bop set than this one.


1. Just By Myself (Golson)
2. I Remember Clifford (Golson)
3. Are You Real(Golson)
4. Moanin' Timmons)
5. Justice(Monk)
6. Blues March(Golson)
7. Whisper Not(Golson)


Lee Morgan tp
Benny Golson ts
Bobby Timmons p
Jymie Merritt b
Art Blakey d

Recorded at "L'Olympia", Paris, France, November 22, 1958 (Tracks 1, 2, 3) and December 17, 1958 (Tracks 4, 5, 6, 7)

Originally released by Fontana (F) 608 202 (LP) and Fontana 460 642 (EP)

Thursday, December 6, 2012

Professor Longhair - Crawfish Fiesta ft. Dr. John on guitar (1980)

New Orleans is said to be a city where having a party has been elevated from a casual pastime to a way of life. Nobody understood this better than Professor Longhair, one of the pioneers of New Orleans rhythm & blues. His influence can be heard in Fats Domino, Allen Toussaint and Dr. John, among many others. Known for his unique mix of blues, jazz, calypso, ragtime, and zydeco, "Fess" (as he was known) defined and captured the essence of New Orleans in his music. This is his best album and unfortunately it was his last. Professor Longhair is the very essence of New Orleans blues. He was Dr. John's mentor, who also was Professor Longhair's studio guitarist, before he dedicated himself to the piano and led a career of his own.


1. Big Chief 3:16
2. Her Mind Is Gone 4:24
3. Something On Your Mind 4:13
4. You're Driving Me Crazy 2:36
5. Red Beans aka I Got My Mojo Working 4:12
6. Willie Fugal's Blues 2:06
8. In The Wee Wee Hours 3:24
9. Cry To Me 3:38
10. Bald Head 3:00
11. Whole Lotta Loving 3:48
12. Crawfish Fiesta

Recorded at Sea-Saint Studios, New Orleans, in 1979, only months before the good Professor's death in January 1980

Personnel: Professor Longhair (piano, vocals); Dr. John (guitar); Andy Kaslow, Tony Dagradi (tenor saxophones); Jim Moore (baritone saxophone); David Lee Watson (bass); John Vidacovich (drums); Alfred "Uganda" Roberts (congas)

Sunday, December 2, 2012

Paul Smith Quartet - The Good Life (1979)

An outstanding performance by the Paul Smith Quartet on the Discwasher label and one of the very first digital recordings. Ripped from the original vinyl to 24-96. You won't believe your ears sonic and musicwise.


Paul Smith p
Barney Kessel g
Monty Budwig b
Frank Capp d


1. Boppo For J.J. (Paul Smith)
2. I Hadn't Anyone 'Til You (Ray Noble)
3. Madame Butterfly (Frank W. Harling)
4. Someday My Prince Will Come (Frank Churchill, Larry Morey)
5. What I Did For Love (Marvin Hamlisch, Edward Kleban)
6. Good Life, The (Sacha Distel, Jack Reardon)
7. Perdido (Irvin Drake, Hans Lengsfelder, JuanTizol)
8. Here's That Rainy Day (Bareto Morales, Simon Napier-Bill)
9. Fourth Way, The (Barney Kessel)
10.Send In The Clowns (Stephen Sondheim)