Friday, October 23, 2009

Roy Ayers Live at Ronnie Scott's 1998

Captured back in 1988 within the intimate settings of London's legendary West End jazz haunt, Ronnie Scott's in Soho, Roy Ayers delivers big time his unique fusion of funk, jazz and soul -- topped by his trademark jazz vibe playing. The album includes infectious reworkings of such club classics as 'Running Away', 'Everybody Loves the Sunshine' and 'Cant You See Me'. (from the liner notes)

Indeed, this is a live set guaranteed to make everybody get up and start shakin' this booty as can be attested by embedded videos of this very set below. The participation of the late, great Zachary Breaux on guitar in this formidable band can only be regarded as a bonus and a fitting tribute.


1. The Spirit of Doo Do
2. I Wanna Touch You Baby
3. Everybody Loves the Sunshine
4. Fast Money
5. Battle of the Vibes
6. Can't You See Me
7. Running Away
8. Don't Stop the Feeling


Roy Ayers - vocals, vibraphone
Zachary Breaux - guitar
Errol Louis - Bass
Ben Peronsky - drums
Dwight Gassaway - percussion

Battle of the Vibes, where we get to meet Roy Ayers the stand-up comedian.

Running Away featuring a killer solo by Zachary Breaux, rip.