Tuesday, January 27, 2009

Howard Roberts - Something's Cookin' & Goodies (1965)

Let's continue our tribute to Mr Roberts with two 1965 releases from March and October of that year for Capitol Records dubbed Something's Cookin' and Goodies respectively, conveniently packaged on one CD. Choice of material might seem corny at first, but these classic, compelling performances showcase Roberts' bluesy brilliance and sophistication, as well as the jazzy, streetwise and sometime savage prowess of his combo, hand-picked from Hollywood's top session players that helped define the sound of the '60s, enjoy.


1. Bluesette
2. A Hard Day's Night
3. The Lonesome Cowboy
4. Frankie and What's His Name
5. Blues in the Night
6. Cute
7. In a Mellow Tone
8. Charade
9. Maniac
10. Recado Bossa Nova
11. Something's Cookin'
12. People
13. Love
14. Who Can I Turn to (When Nobody Needs Me)
15. Three O'Clock in the Morning
16. Marie
17. Girl Talk
18. Fly Me to the Moon
19. Goodies
20. More
21. I Know a Place
22. Summer Wind
23. Chim Chim Cher-Ee


Howard Roberts (guitar); John Audino, Al Porcino, Jack Sheldon, Ray Triscari, Bob Bryant, Shorty Rogers (trumpet); Bob Enevoldsen, Frank Rosolino, Ken Shroyer, Gilbert Falco (trombone); Charles Kynard, Pete Jolly, Harry Cain (organ); Donald Peake, Thomas Tedesco, John Pisano (guitar); Chuck Berghofer, Carol Kaye, Max Bennett (bass); Earl Palmer, Hal Blaine, Frank Capp, Shelly Manne (drums); Larry Bunker, Vic Feldman (percussion).


lcbriza said...

Thanks, d3lta, for this great record. Howard Roberts is great.

DonHo57 said...

Just found your blog, you have some incredible recordings! Thank you for the hard work in posting them.

rowgatien said...

Thank You!

Neroon001 said...

thanks again for another great share !

Chris said...

Thanks mucho!! Great share - I really appreciate it! ;)