Monday, February 16, 2009

Teddy Wilson - Gentleman of Keyboard

Gentleman of Keyboard, a Giants of Jazz compilation released in 1990, is a jumbled assemblage of great jazz recordings made between May 1934 and July 1957 by pianist and bandleader Teddy Wilson (1912-1986). The list of collective personnel on this one disc is staggering, as Wilson consistently worked with innovators and individualists who decisively shaped the evolution of jazz over the years. Among literally dozens of noteworthy participants are vocalists Billie Holiday and Ella Fitzgerald as well as tenor saxophonists Ben Webster and Lester Young. Wilson is also heard in his famous role as a member of the Benny Goodman Quartet and Sextet [these performances alone warrant the admission fee - d3lta]. Though it would take quite a number of Wilson collections to accurately demonstrate the magnitude of his contribution to the history of jazz, Gentleman of Keyboard is as good a place to begin as any. ~ arwulf arwulf, All Music Guide

track listing:

1. Somebody Loves Me
2. I'm Painting the Town Red
3. All My Life
4. Why Do I Lie to Myself About You?
5. Way You Look Tonight
6. Sailin'
7. I've Found a New Baby
8. Just a Mood
9. If Dreams Come True
10. I Got Rhythm
11. Jumpin' for Joy
12. Wham (Re Bop Boom Bam)
13. Liza (All the Clouds'll Roll Away)
14. 71
15. China Boy
16. (Back Home Again In) Indiana
17. I Want to Be Happy - Edmond Hall, Teddy Wilson
18. Rose Room
19. Just Like a Butterfly (That's Caught in the Rain)
20. Fine and Dandy
21. Under a Blanket of Blue
22. Sweet Lorraine
23. Air Mail Special

running time: 72:37

No comments: