Sunday, March 14, 2010

Kenny Drew Trio - Dark Beauty (1974)

Dark Beauty, recorded in 1974 with Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen and Albert "Tootie" Heath, became a break-out hit that helped advance Drew's acclaim. On this album he displays tremendous pianistic skills, intelligent and advanced harmonic sensibilities and driving sense of swing. Pedersen is featured throughout, and his solos demonstrate awe-inspiring technique and imagination. This CD edition contains three bonus tracks which did not appear in the original LP ("A Felicidade," "In Your Own Sweet Way" and "A Stranger In Paradise"). ”

Track listing:

1. Run Away
2. Dark Beauty
3. Summer Night
4. All Blues
5. A Felicidade
6. It Could Happen To You
7. Love Letters
8. Silk Bossa
9. Blues Inn
10. In Your Own Sweet Way
11. Stranger In Paradise


Kenny Drew (piano)
Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen (bass)
Albert "Tootie" Heath (drums)

Recorded in Copenhagen, May 21 & 22, 1974. Originally released by SteepleChase Records in 1974. This reissue CD -- special limited paper sleeve edition -- released in Japan on March 19, 2008.


velobrewer said...

Thank you for the wonderful companion disc to "If You Could See Me Now" - just superb.

snakeboy said...

Very nice. Thanks.

Anonymous said...


sudzy said...

always a thanks for your posts...
(acaciatree (deleted acount on Avax)

d3lta said...

hey sudzy, what happened to acaciatree?

ILIAS said...

JUST KEEP ON DOIN'IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Narcis said...

Nowhere links to download.It is a joke or what?

Anonymous said...