Sunday, October 12, 2008

Hampton Hawes - The Green Leaves Of Summer (1964)

This 1964 recording was Hampton Hawes’s first in more than five years. It radiates the sense of freedom the pianist felt after John F. Kennedy granted him a presidential pardon halfway through a ten-year sentence for substantial indiscretion. The session made it plain that Hawes was still one of the most important pianists in jazz, as inventive as ever and with added richness in his harmonic structures. Hawes heard special qualities in Dmitri Tiomkin’s “The Green Leaves of Summer,” gave it one of his loveliest introductions, and made it a memorable jazz waltz. The album has special treatments of pieces by Davis, Rollins, Arlen, and Berlin, and includes one of Hawes’s custom-tailored blues.

with Monk Montgomery (Wes' brother) on bass and Steve Ellington on drums.


* 1. Vierd Blues
* 2. The Green Leaves Of Summer
* 3. Ill Wind
* 4. St. Thomas
* 5. Secret Love
* 6. Blue Skies
* 7. The More I See You
* 8. G.K. Blues


alfredlion said...

Many thanks for all this great Hampton Hawes music. He is by far one of my all time favorite musicians. The title track on the album is one of the most beautiful pieces of music ever recorded imho

delta_mike said...

Thank you for your kind comment. Hampton Hawes really was a force to be reckoned with, one of the greatest pianists in jazz, an instantly recognizable introvert in the mold of Bill Evans to my ears at least, and a wonderful human being - stay tuned for more.

PS May I suggest HH's aurobiography "Raise Up Off Me", it will make one cry.

Neroon001 said...

I can't agree more with what alfredlion said.Thank you for sharing these wonderful albums