Saturday, October 11, 2008

Hampton Hawes - Spanish Steps (1968)

A rare gem that never made it on CD to my knowledge. Recorded in Paris in 1968 while being on a world tour, featuring some achingly beautiful playing of Hawes' second post - prison phase with superb original compositions, ably accompanied by Jimmy Woode on bass and Arthur Taylor on drums.


1. Blues Enough
2. Sonora
3. Black Forest
4. Dangerous
5. Spanish Steps
6. My Romance

(mp3 320 kbps)


Anonymous said...

Terrific album!!!! Hamp lives!!!!

Ricardo da Mata said...

This is one of the greatest piano trio records of jazz history.